Why Aren’t All of Them Disney Princesses?

Disney Princesses is a Walt Disney Company franchise, based on fictional characters that have been featured as part of the Disney character line-up. When Disney started the Princess Collection in 2001, these were the already-existing eight princesses that are still in the collection today: Snow White, Cinderella, Aurora, Ariel, Belle, Jasmine, Pocahontas, and Mulan. They weren’t the only ones in the original collection though. In the beginning, Tinker Bell, Esmeralda, Megara, Alice, and Jane Porter were all in the collection but were later removed as the guidelines for the princess requirements were refined. Tinker Bell left to start the Disney Fairies franchise.

So, who is considered a Disney Princess in the eyes of Disney? This list is taken straight from Disney’s website
The official list consists only of these 12 princesses;

1. Snow White       2.Cinderella      3.Aurora 4.Ariel                   5.Belle              6.Jasmine